Food & Drink, Lifestyle, Make
Leave a Comment

Gluten Free Blueberry Pancakes

When I was younger eating breakfast was a daily challenge, that and resisting the urge to dropkick anyone who dared lecture me on how it was the most important meal of the day.
Now I’m tempted to say it’s probably my favourite. Any excuse for a brunch date and I’m there, eggs, avocado, you name it I’m all over it. Always a savoury craver though, I don’t think sweet things and mornings mix with me, that is until these incredible blueberry pancakes came and converted me.

Panic not, we are talking ‘healthy’ pancakes here, scrap all the unnecessary sugar and flour and all the other crap and just keep it real simple. I promise you they taste just as good good and if you really need that sugar hit then use something that gives a natural sweetness but at half the damage, so like dates, or honey.

Back home Pancake Day meant a lot of pathetic attempts and failures of something that looked worryingly like a piece of shrivelled skin but here in Australia it’s like the pancake has been on the steroids. They’re huge, like those big waffles Matilda makes, and they literally look incredible, big fluffy beasts. But I can’t have them, gluten free issues and all that. So after much begging and nagging poor Jonny promised me that we’d attempt our own healthier creation.

IMG_9451

What you need –

  • 2 bananas
  • blueberries
  • 2 eggs
  • yoghurt
  • coconut oil
  • pinch of cinnamon powder

What you need to do –

  • mash the banana up until they’re really smooth
  • beat the eggs into the banana mush and add in a tiny bit of cinnamon (or more if that’s what you like)
  • ladle a dollop into your pan with the coconut oil, scatter blueberries over the mixture and fry like you would a pancake
  • serve with some yoghurt and those extra blueberries
  • eat and enjoy

Granted ours looked nothing like the beautiful stacks we’ve seen on other blogs, safe to say our pancake presentation skills aren’t quite up to scratch yet but there was nothing wrong with the taste. They were so yummy. I put a big dollop of yoghurt on the side for a little bit extra. And after all what’s that about practice makes perfect…

Next time I think I’m going to shake it up a bit and try some different combinations, throw whatever fruit in and I’m thinking some nuts and stuff for a bit of protein and crunch. It feels like a bit of a special treat having pancakes for breakfast. And the fact they’re healthy and not too bad for you makes them taste that bit better. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

