Food & Drink, Make
Leave a Comment

Beetroot and Coconut Soup

Over here in Melbourne it’s slowly creeping into winter and god it’s getting horribly cold. This type of weather is what we ran away from London from and if one more person says to me ‘you’re from England, you’ll be used to this’ they’ll get drop kicked all the way there to find out…
I am a bit of a broken record when it comes to soup at the moment, what can I say, I’m addicted, there is literally nothing more comforting when its cold and windy outside than curling up with a nice warming bowl of soup. I can’t dunk a big chunk of bread in it like Jonny so my vice is usually a nice gooey layer of cheese.

Today it’s a bit different than my usual combinations it’s all about the beetroot and the coconut. Great little pairing and with a few chillis to give it that little kick. But I’ll be honest, half the reason I make this one is for the colour. Reminds me when you were a kid and first discovered food colouring and you’d dye every food possible bright pink or green. My dad hated it which made my sisters and I do it so much more, obviously. But back to the soup…

IMG_0606

What you’ll need:

  • 4 beetroot
  • tin of coconut milk
  • 4 chilli
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2 shallots
  • heaped teaspoon vegetable stock powder
  • feta

IMG_9823

What you’ll need to do:

  • chop the beetroots, drizzle with oil in a baking tray and place in the oven (180 degrees) for around 40 minutes
  • whilst these are roasting, dice the chilli and garlic cloves and heat in a pan with oil
  • add the chopped shallots and cook until soft
  • add your roasted beetroot to the pan
  • add the coconut milk and the stock and turn the heat down leaving to simmer
  • after 5 minutes take off the heat and blend the mixture to your desired smoothness
  • crumble some feta on top, wrap up on the sofa and tuck in
  • tastes even better if its raining outside or you’re near a fire.

IMG_0619

Instant comfort food. Like a liquid hug. I debated whether that sounded a little creepy but figured everyone who enjoys soup would know just what I mean. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

